Florida Insurance Agency Licensing or Registration Requirements
Senate Bill 1912, passed by the Florida Legislature in 2005 requires all insurance agencies to become
licensed or registered by October 1, 2006. The Department of Financial Services, Division of Agent &
Agency is currently accepting applications for licensure or registration of agencies. All insurance
agencies conducting business in Florida must apply for licensure or registration prior to October 1, 2006.
There is no fee for licensure or registration.
Any location that an individual uses to perform a function that requires an agent license must
be licensed or registered as an insurance agency. This means that an agent that is based in
his/her home must obtain an agency license for that location.
Failure to apply for Licensure or Registration before the October 1, 2006 deadline may result
in a fine of up to $10,000.
- Agencies are eligible for Registration if they were in business prior to January 1, 2003 AND are
one of the following:
- Entirely owned by licensed and appointed insurance agents
- Publicly traded on a stock exchange
- An agency whose primary function is offering insurance as a service or benefit to members of a
- All other agencies MUST apply for Licensure.
Every agency location must be licensed or registered with the department. You may not obtain one license
in order to cover multiple agency locations.
EVERY LOCATION MUST HAVE A LICENSED AND APPOINTED AGENT IN FULL-TIME CHARGE OF THAT AGENCY.
An agent MAY NOT be the Agent In Charge of multiple locations at the same time. The application will
require you to identify the Agent In Charge of each location.
Agency licenses must be renewed every 3 years. There is no charge for renewals. Registrations do
not have to be renewed.
Agencies will apply for Licensure or Registration online at https://dice.fldfs.com/public/pb_index.aspx
For additional information you may go to the Department of Financial Service website