Insurance Agent/Agency licensure for the State of Florida is handled by the Florida Department of Financial Services, Bureau of Agent and Agency Licensing. To obtain a Florida resident surplus lines agent (1-20) or a Florida non-resident surplus lines agent (91-20), please complete the following steps:
- Qualify for the License:
The FSLSO provides an online pre-licensing course via its website at
A list of insurance schools which offer the course in a classroom setting is also found at this site.
- Apply for the License and State Examination:
Application for the license shall be made through the Florida Department of Financial Services via their website at:
The Application fee is $50.00, plus a $5 license card fee, and is paid in advance.
When you complete your Internet application process, you will be able to view the status of the application through your "MyProfile" account
on the Department's website (www.myfloridacfo.com/division/agents). All documents and information that you must submit to the Department to complete
your application process will be listed in MyProfile.
You will be required to submit fingerprints when applying for your license. For information concerning fingerprinting requirements for
residents and non-residents, please visit:
Fingerprinting fees are $55.50. If your
fingerprint results are on file with the Department and less than one year old, you will not be required to submit fingerprints again.
Examinations may be taken before, during or after your application is submitted, reviewed and approved by the Department. Examinations may be scheduled
through Pearson VUE at http://www.pearsonvue.com/fl/insurance.
Note: A "pass" is valid for one year from the examination pass date and a Department approved application is valid for one year from the date of approval.
Failure to obtain both Department approval for the licenase and a passing grade on the examination within a one year time frame will result in having to either
retake an exam or reapply with the Department. Passing the examination alone does not qualify for the license.
- Complete Your Self-Appointment:
After becoming licensed, surplus lines agents must appoint themselves. To complete this process:
Please note: this appointment is valid for 2 years and will require renewal during your birth month two years after the intial appointment effective date to maintain this license.
- Log in to MyProfile account.
- Select the "Access eAppoint" link on the right.
- If you have never previously used eAppoint, you must first register by selecting "Register to become an appointing entity."
- Once steps 2 or 3 have been completed, select "New Appointment" in the eAppoint Workbench. Once "New Appointment" has been selected, follow
the on-screen instructions to complete your self-appointment. There is a $150 self-appointment fee associated with this process.
- Register with FSLSO:
Any individual, licensed as a surplus lines agent under §626.927 and §626.9272, Florida Statute, shall be deemed a member
of the Florida Surplus Lines Service Office (FSLSO), a not-for-profit, self-regulating association. Upon receiving your
Florida Surplus Lines License, you will need to complete a New Agent Membership form by visiting: https://slip.fslso.com/ and selecting "Register".
NOTE: All general lines licensees are required to meet Florida's continuing education requirements.
You must maintain your qualifying license (general lines, managing general agent, or service representative) and at least one appointment
with that license. Failure to do so will result in cancellation of your surplus lines license. You will have 30 days following the loss of all
appointments under the qualifying license to obtain new appointments before the surplus lines license is cancelled. Once the surplus lines license is
cancelled, you must re-qualify as a first-time applicant by completing all of the requirements listed above.
You cannot transact any class of insurance business for which you are not licensed and appointed.
For further information about these requirements, visit the Department's website at:
or contact the Bureau of Licensing at (850) 413-3137.